Wazobia Nollywood | 24 December 2014 09:48 CET

Aliyu Ilias, Toyin Ainu Win 2014 Best Abuja Yoruba Artistes Awards

Source: Osaremen Ehi James/Nollywoodgists.com

It was a fun-filled event on Saturday, December 20, 2014 in Abuja when the maiden edition of the Abuja Yoruba Artists Awards took place in the Nigeria's capital city.

Who-is-who in the Yoruba movie industry in Abuja converged for the occasion, which turned out to be successful.

Some of the actors were rewarded for their outstanding performances in the outgoing 2014. It was also a time to unwind after a stressful, but prosperous year.

The event took place at Jabi Lake in Jabi, Abuja and was organized by the Association of Nigeria Theatre Arts Practitioners (ANTP), Abuja chapter.

Addressing guests at the occasion, the Abuja ANTP Governor, Aliyu Ilias, expressed his appreciation to all Yoruba artistes in Abuja and also encouraged them to raise the bar. He disclosed that from February to March 2015, the association will organise training and workshop programmes for members.

He explained that this will include training in acting, directing, scriptwriting, costuming, and others.

At the event, awards were won by deserving members and they are;

Aliyu Ilias as Best Actor for 2014

Toyin Ainu as Best Actress for 2014

Arowosaye AdeWale (Jekiwongbo) as Best Comedian for 2014

'Iyawo Abuja' as Best Film for 2014

Ismail Abdulahi (Dodo) as Best Director for 2014

Adeomi A.Kayinsola, Afolabi Adesola, and Dauda Olawale as Future Artists of the Year.

The Most Supportive awards went to Afternext Media and Waleco Media limited.

Also, six rated films were presented with awards and they are 'Iyawo Abuja', 'Agbaya', 'Tani Arungun Omo', 'Folake Omo Iyawere', 'Jagba' and 'Agbedemeji'.

Other sites The Nigerian Voice