Premieres/Red Carpet | 18 October 2011 14:13 CET

Omotola Beats Genevieve, Funke Akindele To Win Screen Nations Award

By Osagie Alonge


Nollywood star actress Omotola Jalade-Ekeinde might not have made the Forbes list of Top 40 Most Influential Celebrities in Africa like her rival Genevieve Nnaji did but will certainly be delighted to know that she has won the award for 'Favourite West African Actress' at the 2011 edition of the Screen Nation Film and Television Awards.

Omosexy edged out Nigerian actors Funke Akindele, Genevieve Nnaji, Mercy Johnson, and her Ghanaian counterparts Jackie Appiah and Ama K Abebrese.

The awards which took place on Sunday, October 16, 2011 was held at the IndigoO2 and was hosted by Angellica Bell and Michael Underwood.

Past recipients of awards include Hollywood legends Morgan Freeman and Danny Glover.

Check out the full list of winner below…

Male Performance in Film – Clint Dyer

Female Performance in Film – Thandie Newton

Male Performance in TV – Nonso Anozie

Female Performance in TV – Wunmi Mosaku

Favourite Male TV Star – Arinze Kene

Favourite Female TV Star – Tameka Empson

Emerging Talent – La Charne Jolly

Young Shooting Star – Daniel Kaluuya

Comedy Performer – Andy Osho

Diversity in Factual Production – Saving Africa's Witch Children

Diversity in Drama Production – Luther

Favourite Urban Movie – Anuvahood

Favourite Music Video Performance – Tinie Tempah

Independent Spirit Film Production – Obi Emelonye

Achievement in Cinematic Direction – Thomas Ikimi

International Film – Why Did I Get Married Too

US Screen Personality Male – Tyler Perry

US Screen Personality Female – Monique

Best West African Film – The Mirror Boy

Favourite West African Action – Miajid Michel

Favourite West African Actress – Omotola Jolade

The Screen Nation Foundation comprises of black British film and television professionals from all within the UK including actors, writers, directors and producers. Designed to empower and encourage diversity with the motion picture and audio-visual industries, The Foundation primarily agrees on the annual list of categories and nominees via a committee vote.

Andi Osho
Arinze Kene
Clarke Peters
Clint Dyer
Sherri Silver
Tameka Empson

Other sites The Nigerian Voice