Press Release | 26 May 2011 06:52 CET

Joy Isi bewaji, Jude Dibia, Igoni Barret, Others Form Writers’ Collective

By Osagie Alonge/net
Joy Isi bewaji

Joy Isi bewaji

The Jalaa Writers' Collective, consisting of 10 notable Nigerian writers will on Thursday, May 26, 2011 present themselves to the general public with a book launch, which will feature a set of newly released books by members of the collective.

The event, which will take place at Faculty of Arts Boardroom, University of Lagos, will showcase four books 'Pride of the Spider Clan' by Odili Ujubuonu; 'The Runaway Hero' by Uche Peter Umez; 'Roses and Bullets' by Akachi Adimora-Ezeigbo and 'Blackbird' by Jude Dibia.

Jalaa Writers' Collective was created in 2009 by 10 Nigeria-based writers who came together in an effort to tackle the book production and distribution challenges of the local publishing industry. The collective aims to engage 'the weaknesses of the industry by pooling the talent, resources and experience of its members in a systematic and profit-oriented manner'.

The writers are Adunni Adelakun, Igoni Barrett, Akachi Adimora-Ezeigbo, Joy Isi Bewaji, Jude Dibia, Odili Ujubuonu, Araceli Aipoh, Victoria Kankara, Ahmed Maiwada and Peter Umez.

Other sites The Nigerian Voice